Sverrir Hermannsson's Sundry Collection
Opening hours: Open every day 11-17, from May 15 - Sept. 15.
Tel. 463-1261 - 898-5468, e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Sverrir's sundry museum boasts a private collection of a kind which is unique in Iceland.
This collection of sundries is neither a historical museum, agricultural museum, appliance collection, household collection nor key collection, but all of those rolled into one and so much more.
Sverrir Hermannsson was born on 30th of March 1928, a citizen of the original ''old town'' of Akureyri in Eyjafjöršur, where he has always lived and worked. A master house carpenter by trade, his speciality is the rebuilding of old houses and he has received many acknowledgements for his inestimable work in that field.
Sverrir's workmanship can be seen in many of the oldest historical buildings in Akureyri, and he has also been involved in the maintenance and rebuilding of several churches in Eyjafjöršur: at the church farm sites Grund, Grenivķk, Möšruvellir and other locations. Most of these buildings date from the nineteenth century.
In this capacity, the collector in Sverrir was just as involved as the carpenter, always on the lookout for things to acquire. He held on to all sorts of things, pieces of wood, nails, etc. which he salvaged from these old houses - ''junk'' which would otherwise have been thrown away. Out of the old wood and nails he has fashioned exhibits, distinctive sculptures, which make up unique souvenirs.
Sverrir remained in charge of all those sundry items at Ašalastręti 38 Akureyri, until the spring of 2003 when he presented the entire collection to the district of Eyjafjaršarsveit, on condition that it should be displayed in suitably spacious premises.
The collection is aptly situated in Sólgaršur, Eyjafjaršarsveit, since Sverrir used to work in the area as a young man and he has also renovated a number of churches in the district.